Used: 2011

Man, home has really been on my mind lately. Los Angeles has finally been in the news! I know what most of you think, you are the second biggest city in America, you are always in the news! And while this is sort of true, it’s rarely for actual city reasons. I don’t count anything celeb or entertainment related. The network shows definatly give favor to New York and east coast cities on their news reports. The national weather for Los Angeles given on The Today Show is nearly always wrong. But between Will and Kate visiting Los Angeles, of all cities in our fine country and then Carmageddon last weekend, we are finally making some decent news! I don’t know what the reports were outside the city, but thankfully Carmageddon was a wash. Everyone stayed home. Everyone got stuff done! The roads in all parts of the county were empty! And the best part is, we get to do this all again in 11 months! Let the hysteria begin! I am predicting now, the same thing will happen. The news will build up something huge, in the realm of, last time was so good, are people going to ignore warnings and drive? And everyone will freak again and stay home. I predict the streets will be even emptier! I know I will be off the streets this time.

My dad and I didn’t even realize what was going on when we decided to drive to San Diego for the day to visit some old family friends. We left at 8am both days and traffic was hilarious. LA County was dead empty on both days. San Diego County was packed both days, both at 10am, when we arrived on Saturday and 8am when we left on Sunday. It was crazy. I don’t have anything touristy to relate as we really didn’t do much. The family friends had been in New York for the last 3 years and while my parents had seen them a few times, I hadn’t seen them since before 2007, so it had been awahile and we just hung around the house the whole day, which was fine by me. The weather was fantastic and I even brought out a sweater and WORE IT, which I hadn’t done in months (stupid LA summer). We had a great time doing nothing. But the amount of people on the roads in SDC is insane these days. So much more traffic then 10 years ago, that’s for sure, maybe even 5 years. It’s not an escape from LA anymore. But the weather can not be beat. Seriously, every day is 72 and sunny.

My Dad and Me, North Park, San Diego, CA

The weekend after Carmageddon, I met up with my pals, LACOT who were having their bi-monthly meet up at Hotel Angeleno, which is this super awesome hotel off the 405 freeway. It is right in the center of the Carmageddon weekend, located off Sunset Blvd, near Beverly Hills, Westwood Village and Brentwood, in between the 10 and 101 freeways. I rarely drove on the 405 when I was a kid, but one of the first times in memory was when I was about 13 and seeing this super strange building off the freeway. It was a Holiday Inn at the time and just this giant circular building in the middle of a pretty residential area. A while back, it was redone and I have been to the bar on the top floor twice in the last month for various events and it has an AWESOME view. Seriously, ocean to mountains, downtown all the way to Long Beach on a clear day. Plus, you can watch the freeway and traffic patterns, which I find oddly interesting, how and why someone would drive in all this traffic every single day with out going insane. It’s crazy. Since I live in LA, I would never stay here, but I would be interested to see what the rooms look like, just based on the buildings shape. Someone stay, so I can see!

Seriously, why would anyone choose to drive this every single day?!

WEST-SIIIDE in the distance, with 405 freeway in foreground.

Moral: I am a total sucker for huge, large, overblown-for-no-reason events. And no one does them better then Los Angeles. Unfortunatly, most of ours are based on entertainment crap, which I am so over. I miss crap like this and I can’t wait for next year! Seriously, the chances that something happens, slim to none. But feel free to freak us out! I highly reccomend the first segment from The Colbert Report, from The Colbert Report, dated 14-July-2011. One of the funniest segments I have seen in a very long time.