This book is from the same author as EAT, LOVE, PREY, one of those Oprah books that everyone read and hated at the same time. This is her follow up, about what happens when you fall in love, and thanks to government regulations, you have to get married if you want to live together in the US, weather you want to or not. I can relate to this book for some reasons and know people who can relate for others. For me, it’s the force to get married when you really really don’t want to. I would HATE for the government to make me essentially have to get married when it’s something I really don’t want to do. What would I do in that situation? I really don’t know. Well, probably NOT live in the US. I like the US a lot, but I have learned to live without it for years and I think I would/could do it again, for the right person. I always said one of the reasons I didn’t stay in NZ or Australia permanently was because I didn’t really have anyone to stay for. If I fell in love with someone who wasn’t welcomed in the US for longer periods of time unless we got married but was welcomed in say, New Zealand (and maybe Australia)I think I could live there forever as a partner and not be married. Those countries are definitely more laxed in their terms of “partners” anyway, another reason I love them so much. The US forces marriage too hard on its people. (And then of course, excludes others, but that is another book for another day).

Since the author is so anti-marriage, but essentially forced into one, she travels around mainly Asia with her partner (love that term for everyone!! Definitely a NZ term) and asks people about marriage in their cultures. I thought it would be more about that, but the book was definitely more personal then I thought it would be, which was good.

I liked this book a lot. It got a crap review and grade from EW, but I think I am just interested in the topic more. Yes, it was more of a personal story that not everyone can relate to, but I think it would be a good book for people with partners from other countries to read. Not required, just interesting.

