Guy travels the world trying to find out why people are happy in some countries and not in others. And not all countries are happy on the outside, but are really happy on the inside. Oddly, my favorite chapter was the one where he takes a break from the happiness and goes to a totally miserable country in eastern Europe. I actually found that chapter totally interesting. What does that say about me? Anyway, for the most part, he got off the beaten trail. Why are Icelanders so happy when it’s dark 6 months a year? The countries I could have passed on are both the UK and the US. And none of the countries he wrote about were in the S. Hemisphere (hello NZ!!! routinely rated as one of the “happiest” countries in the world! Whatever) which was kind of hemisphere-ist (I love inventing new words!). A bit too much on the “happy” part and not enough on the travelling part. Oh well.

