A guy hitch hiking across Japan from bottom to top and his adventures. I think I would have liked this book more if I had been to Japan, but having never been I couldn’t relate too much to it. There were plenty of maps at the start of the book and at the start of each section which was greatly appreciated as I can picture it slightly better. The names of the people and the towns didn’t mean anything to me as they all sounded the same, but even worse than usual. This was before “technology” which I always like more as the story felt more in the present and events that were happening now.

The funny thing was is everyone who picked him up asked him why he didn’t just take the bus or the train and then said that no one would pick him up (after they themselves picked him up) but he made it and hitchhiked the whole way! A decent read, but you’ll probably like more if you have been before.

