I got this book back in 2003 when I was in London and really liked it a lot and it was one of the few books that I never sold because I knew someday I would want to read it again. I thought about it a lot when I was in Australia and I was excited to re-read it when I got home. And I finally did! Like a dork I am, I got out my guide book from Australia and followed the authors travels around the country, even though a lot has changed since this book was written and then the guide book (I don’t have the latest edition) to now. I had been to about half the places the author talks about and he does a pretty good job describing them, which is why I think I saved this book and wanted to re-read it. It starts in Cairns and ends up in Darwin and takes the longest route ever to get there, most of it which is off the main backpackers trail, which I liked a lot. He goes from Cairns, to Alice, down to Port Augustus, over to Perth and up to Broome and all the parks to Darwin. He wants to find the “real” Australia and in reading it and talking to people, I don’t think he realized that he is talking to the real Australia. People are raciest and it’s hard to find aboriginals, just like it’s hard to find Indians in America. This is the book that put that in prospective for me, that the Aboriginals in Aus are just like the Indians here in America and I kind of got off my wanting to go to Australia and learn about them-kick, which I realized I didn’t really care about knowing about the Indians here and sort of felt bad about that. I like books that make me realize stuff about myself that I didn’t know before. It comes about so rarely! It’s not that I know much about myself, it’s just most of the books I read are crap.

