Used: My lifetime.

Is it just me or do there seem to be a lot of posts out there lately regarding “how to take better pictures”? I feel like this trend comes and goes. Even though I took photo all my years in high school (as well as went to a hoity-toity photography program one summer vacation), I have never been one to concentrate and set up a shot. I can tell you I hate flash and when it comes to black and white, those are the only colors I want to see (I hate gray). Other than that, whatever my camera gives me, I am sure I’ll love. In fact, the crazier or unfocused or blury or whatever the picture, sometimes make it better because who knows what was happening to you when you took it? A gust of wind? A friendly laugh? Leaning over so far and the shot is still out of reach? I love it even more! The jest of it is, if I wanted postcard quality shots, I would just buy the postcard. And I do, especially if it’s of a place that I love. I’d must rather experience a place then spend time taking pictures.

One of my favorite “awful” picture of Sydney at night. It’s not going to get better then this!

So when I first arrived in Auckland, I had my new camera with me. I read the instruction manuel on how to use it and the pictures I took back in LA turned out fine. I snapped my heart out the first weekend in Auckland, doing loads of touristy things and when I finally had a moment to sit down and look at the pictures I noticed that they all looked really bright and washed out. I did not adjust my settings for lack of ozone layer, which New Zealand is known for! I adjusted my settings quickly and the rest of my pictures for the next 2 years turned out great.

My first shot of Rangitoto Island, Auckland, New Zealand

After I realized my error and changed my camera settings. Rangitoto Island, Auckland, New Zealand

When I went over to Australia to meet up with some friends, my friend had this HUGE camera she carried around with her in this huge heavy bag. We went to the Blue Mountains and she totally lagged it compared to the rest of the group because not only did she had to stop and take pictures of EVERYTHING but because of her camera, ever shot had to be set up in a professional manner and it took forever. Give me my point and shot any day.

Besides, as a perpetual solo traveler, a huge DSLR is highly impractical. First off, you can’t take pictures of yourself by holding it out in front of you. Talk about a set up! No thanks. Plus, I like knowing all the features on my camera and by the time I learned them all on a DSLR, it would be out of date. Forget it.

Take a picture of myself in Sydney, Australia. Not the greatest angle due to the sun, but different!

And actually, this is so unlike me to say but after playing around with my sisters iphone last year, I think when I need to get a new camera, I might actually consider getting that. Still not going to happen for at least two more years as my current camera is alive and clicking, but when I do, that is high on my consideration list.

Auckland is not really this light! Before I changed the settings.

Moral: Take whatever pictures you won’t, don’t care about anyone else. And talk about being a tourist! If you spend too much time setting up a shot, not only will you look like a tourist, but you’ll miss out on everything that is going on around you!

